Val Vallis Award

only after fifteen notes / did silence grip its tongue 
– from Val Vallis’s ‘The Ballad of Changi Chimes’

2020 Arts Queensland Val Vallis Award for an Unpublished Poem

Named in honour of a distinguished Queensland poet, the Arts Queensland Val Vallis Award for an Unpublished Poem is committed to encouraging poets throughout Australia. Now in its 20th year, this prestigious prize for an unpublished poem (or suite of poems) of 80 lines or less comes with a total value of $1,500.

1st Prize: $1,000 cash
2nd Prize: $500 cash
Highest Qld entry: Performance opportunity at Queensland Poetry Festival 2021

Prize-winners will also be published in Cordite Poetry Review.

Deadline for receipt of applications: 5pm Monday 4th May 2020

The winner will be announced at the Queensland Poetry Awards on Friday 31st July 2020.

Previous winners: Damen O’Brien, Zenobia Frost, Bronwyn Lovell, Caitlin Maling, Andrew Last, Brett Dionysius, Chloe Wilson, R.A. (Rachael) Briggs, Rebecca Edwards, Bronwyn Lea, Anna Kerdijk Nicholson, Judy Johnson, Jaya Savige, Sandra Hill, Ynes Sanz, Nathan Shepherdson, Anna Krien, Michelle Cahill.


Please note: only one entry per person for the Val Vallis Award


Thank you for your entries. The 2020 Arts Queensland Val Vallis Award is now closed for submissions.


The Queensland Poetry Awards are supported by the Queensland Government through Arts Queensland.