Oodgeroo Noonuccal Indigenous Poetry Prize

Oodgeroo Noonuccal Indigenous Poetry Prize

We are the shadow-ghosts creeping back as the camp fires burn low
 from ‘We Are Going’ by Oodgeroo Noonuccal

QPF are very proud to again present Australia’s only open-age Indigenous poetry prize for an unpublished poem. Named in honour after Oodgeroo Noonuccal, the first Aboriginal Australian to publish a book of verse, after receiving permission from Oodgeroo’s family and in close consultation with Quandamooka Festival.

The Oodgeroo Noonuccal Indigenous Poetry Prize is open to all Indigenous poets, emerging and established, throughout Australia.

1ST PRIZE: $2,000, plus mentoring sessions with an established Indigenous poet/writer

Highest Quandamooka entry: $500 Qld Writers Centre credit, performance opportunity at at Queensland Poetry Festival 2019

* Winners + highly recommended will be also be published online.

2018 Judges: Jeanine Leane, Graham Akhurst

Previous Winners: Jeanine Leane, Sachem Parkin-Owens, Andrew Booth,  Julie Janson

The winners will be announced at the Queensland Poetry Awards on Thursday 23 August 2018 at the Judith Wright Centre of Contemporary Arts in Brisbane.

Deadline for receipt of applications: by 5pm Friday 20th July 2018. 


This prize is supported by the Australia Council for the Arts, the Queensland Writers Centre and Quandamooka Festival. QPF also thanks the Walker family for their support in the naming this prize.