Val Vallis Award

Val Vallis Award

only after fifteen notes / did silence grip its tongue 
– from Val Vallis’s ‘The Ballad of Changi Chimes’

2019 Arts Queensland Val Vallis Award for an Unpublished Poem

Named in honour of a distinguished Queensland poet, the Arts Queensland Val Vallis Award for an Unpublished Poem is committed to encouraging poets throughout Australia. Now in its 20th year, this prestigious prize for an unpublished poem (or suite of poems) of 80 lines or less comes with a total value of $2,000.

1st Prize: $1,000 cash

2nd Prize: $500 cash

Highest Qld entry: $500 workshop credit at Qld Writers Centre, along with performance opportunity at Queensland Poetry Festival 2019

Prize-winners will also be published in Cordite Poetry Review.


2019 Judges: Judith Beveridge, Yvette Holt

Deadline for receipt of applications: 5pm Friday 5th July 2019


The winner will be announced at the Queensland Poetry Awards, Thursday 22nd August 2019 at the Judith Wright Centre of Contemporary Arts, Fortitude Valley.

Previous winners: Damen O’Brien, Zenobia Frost, Bronwyn Lovell, Caitlin Maling, Andrew Last, Brett Dionysius, Chloe Wilson, R.A. (Rachael) Briggs, Rebecca Edwards, Bronwyn Lea, Anna Kerdijk Nicholson, Judy Johnson, Jaya Savige, Sandra Hill, Ynes Sanz, Nathan Shepherdson, Anna Krien, Michelle Cahill.



The Queensland Poetry Awards are supported by the Queensland Government through Arts Queensland.