Thomas Shapcott Poetry Prize

Thomas Shapcott Poetry Prize

To have something is to be able to recognise it, even in the dark. – Thomas Shapcott

2019 Arts Queensland Thomas Shapcott Poetry Prize

Named in honour of a distinguished Queensland poet, the Arts Queensland Thomas Shapcott Poetry Prize for an Unpublished Manuscript is committed to encouraging emerging Queensland poets.  Now in its 17th year, this prestigious prize for an unpublished poetry manuscript comes with total prize money of $2,000 and a publishing contract. This prize is funded by Arts Queensland and supported by (University of Queensland Press) UQP.

1st Prize:
$2000 cash
Publishing contract with University of Queensland Press
A book launch at QPF 2019

Deadline for receipt of applications: by 5pm Friday 5th July 2019


The winner will be announced at the Queensland Poetry Awards, to take place the opening night of the Queensland Poetry Festival, Thursday 22nd August 2019 at the Judith Wright Centre of Contemporary Arts.

Previous winners: Anna Jacobson, Rae White, Shastra Deo, Stuart Barnes, Krissy Kneen, David Stavanger, R.A. (Rachael) Briggs, Nicholas Powell, Lidja Cvetkovic, Rosanna Licari, Jaya Savige, Nathan Shepherdson, Angela Gardner, Sarah Holland-Batt, Felicity Plunkett, Vladislav Nekliaev


The Queensland Poetry Awards are supported by the Queensland Government through Arts Queensland.